Wonky Monkey's Wanderings

Fashion, food, fitness, fantasy, footering

Perfume

leave a comment »

Inspired by Laura, and my ever-growing collection…..

Narciso Rodriguez

I like Essence and Musk, but my favourite is the original For Her.  Someone described it as smelling rich, sophisticated and dirty.  Yeah, that about sums it up.  For a long time it was my signature perfume.

MAC MV3

Possibly my very favourite perfume ever; it’s sweet and quite intense with vanilla and jasmine overtones, but with a dark leathery and vertiver depth.  Utterly delicious and very sexy.


Paul Smith Story

I tend to prefer male perfumes to female ones, which I think often are too sweet/florally and don’t have enough depth. I like this one for its mix of citrus, floral and wood; it’s a very nuzzly fragrance.  It’s one of my standard work-wear fragrances.

Lancome Hypnose For Men

I suppose this might be described as a masculine oriental fragrance; it’s quite spicey with lavendery and musky overtones.   I think it’s almost feminine-smelling on first sniff, then the spices and warmth deepen it.  It’s my boyfriend’s signature scent; he’s a proper boy’s boy but with an unexpected feminine streak, and it suits him perfectly. 

Viktor and Rolf Antidote

Another citrus-floral-wood-leather fragrance; citrus spicey topnotes and then a vanillay woody base note to finish.   It’s a classic-with-a-twist; quite sophisticated and polished (a little at odds with V&R clothes perhaps!); gentlemanly in other words!  I like subverting that by wearing it when I’m working serious black leather and shedloads of black eyeliner.

John Varvatos

Utterly delicious; a warm, sophisticated and dirty mix of leather, spices and tobacco with an underlying unexpected sweetness.  I stumbled across this at T5 in Heathrow and bought the last one on the shelf.  It’s one of the most masculine fragrances I have; love wearing this with something very feminine.

I do think about whether the perfume I wear will work with what I’m wearing (the same goes for make-up as well).  There is the obvious masculine-frgrance-feminine-outfit juxtaposition, but I also tend to associate smells with colours and textures and if the “colour” of a smell doesn’t work with the clothes I’m wearing, I get annoyed.  Yes yes, I am weird.

I really want to try Narciso Rodriguez For Him and Jo Malone Vanilla and Star Anise and Black Vetyver Cafe perfumes; too skint to buy them now but come later in January I’ll be checking them out.

What’s your favourite perfume and what do you like wearing it with?

Written by wonkymonkeymusings

21/12/2009 at 12:21 pm

Posted in Perfume

Leave a comment